Past Workshop:

The 9th annual AAPS Joint Workshop on Drug Transporters in ADME: From the Bench to the Bedside, co-sponsored by the Food and Drug Administration, highlights the next generation of transporters and transport mechanisms that may contribute to ADME properties in disease, drug discovery and development.

Attendees of this state-of-the-art event will:

  • Understand contributions of heteromeric transporters (ABCG5/G8, ABCD2, OSTα/β) to biliary excretion of cholesterol and disease states
  • Explore intracellular mechanisms of lysosomal sequestration, large molecule transport (antibody, siRNA, antisense RNA)
  • Analyze current trends in transporter imaging, 3D culture models, and
  • Discuss in silico approaches to predicting transporter substrate and inhibitor activity

In addition, thought leaders from the International Transporter Consortium (ITC) will discuss implications of recent white papers and the FDA and EMA regulatory agencies will present their perspectives on the newly separated in-vitro and in-vivo transporter guidance.

 Artursson_Per.jpgFeatured Speaker: Our keynote speaker, Professor Per Artursson , is an AAPS Fellow and the head of the Drug Delivery research team in the Dosage Form Design at the Department of Pharmacy, Uppsala University, Sweden. With over 200 publications, Professor Artursson is one of the world's most cited pharmaceutical scientists.

View Detailed Agenda (PDF)

Co-Sponsored by:

FDA logo

Thank you to our Event Sponsor: 


Abstracts and Posters

AAPS abstracts for the workshop can be viewed below.

View Abstracts (PDF)

Exhibitors and Sponsors

We thank our exhibiting partners and sponsors for engaging with us and supporting this workshop!

If you have questions, contact our staff:

Contact Information:


Kate Hawley


View Details (PDF)

Program Committee

Steven Louie, Ph.D.
Amgen Inc.

Bjoern Bauer, Ph.D,,
University of Kentucky

Patrick Ronaldson, Ph.D.,
University of Arizona