Award 2017

2017 AAPS award recipient Ashim K. Mitra, Ph.D.

AAPS Awards: Nominate Your Deserving Colleagues

In alignment with its mission to advance the ability of pharmaceutical scientists to develop products and therapies that improve global health, AAPS brings attention to, and celebrates, the most impactful sciences as well as the scientists who serve as role models in the pharmaceutical  sciences community.

AAPS recognizes sciences and scientists in three areas that relate to the mission and goals identified in the AAPS Strategic Plan:
> Scientific Contributions and Innovation
> Leadership
> Service

Please review the 2018 AAPS Awards Handbook below for available awards.  Accepting applications April 2, 2018.

Proposing a New AAPS Award

The AAPS Awards Committee receives, reviews, and  the completes development of all proposals for new AAPS Awards.  Although the Executive Council makes the final decision in creating an award, it is with the counsel of the AAPS Awards Committee, which must administer all awards. Please review further details on how to propose an award in the 2018 Awards Handbook below. 

The deadline to propose an award for 2019 is November 30, 2018.

AAPS Fellowships

Each year, AAPS elevates a few members to Fellow Status in recognition of their professional excellence and sustained superior impact in fields relevant to AAPS’s mission: to advance the capacity of pharmaceutical scientists to develop products and therapies that improve global health.

Learn More


Please contact Kate Hawley to learn more about how to support the awards programs. 



For more information regarding awards, please contact Me'Gesha Portlock - Awards and Fellows Coordinator. 


Apply Here!


AAPS will begin accepting online award submissions on April 2, 2018.  Instructions regarding submission and the link to the award submission site will be posted at that time.  

View the 2018 AAPS Awards Handbook (PDF) below.

View the Awards Handbook

Hall of Fame: Past Awardees

Award for Distinguished Pharmaceutical Scientist

2015 AAPS President, Dr. Alice E. Till presents the Distinguished Pharmaceutical Scientist Award to Dr. Alexandros Makriyannis. This award is intended to recognize the accomplishments of an individual that have been outstanding because of the impact of his/her work in the pharmaceutical sciences, regulatory and/or technology fields.