Nominate A Worthy Colleague for the Wurster Award!

Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics:
Support the future of pharmaceutical science today 

You can support excellence in research with a simple application through AAPS. The purpose of this award is to recognize a worthy candidate who has made significant research contributions to the pharmaceutical sciences in the specific field of pharmaceutics.

Important Deadlines:

  • AAPS begins accepting nominations: April 2, 2018

  • Application Deadline: June 6, 2018
  • Notifications: July 23, 2018
  • Appeal Submissions: July 30, 2018

Application Information

Submit Nomination

This award will be presented to the honoree at AAPS PharmSci 360, November 4-7, 2018.  The honoree will also receive complimentary registration, travel support to PharmSci 360 and a $10,000 monetary award. 

Please Note:
  Nominations can be made by any member of AAPS

If you have questions regarding requirements for this endowed award or how to apply, please contact us.  

Email Us

Dale E. Wurster Endowment History

The Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics recognizes individuals who have made significant research contributions to the field of pharmaceutics. This research may be in the areas of physical pharmacy, preformulation, dosage form design, formulation, biopharmaceutics, and/or pharmacokinetics.

The next award recipient will be announced at PharmSci 360 in November 2018. This individual will join a distinguished group of scientists who have substantially impacted the field of pharmaceutics.

This award was created and generously funded by Dean and Professor Dale E. Wurster for 20 years. A fund raising initiative has been launched to permanently fund the award via an endowment and is currently 80 percent funded. This reflects the strong support to memorialize Dean Wurster’s scientific contributions and to recognize him as a founder of AAPS.

The University of Iowa College of Pharmacy & University of Iowa Pharmaceuticals (UIP) is the lead corporate sponsor. Two additional tiers of support of have been created with significant contributions from AstraZeneca, Gilead, Merck, Metrics Contract Services, Quotient Clinical, Patheon Pharmaceuticals and additional support from AlphaVektor, Formex, Magothy Consulting, and Norwich Pharma Services. Significant donations have been received from individuals supporting this award. The Wurster family, including Professor Dale Eric Wurster, his wife Pamela, and Dr. Susan Wurster Biel personally covered the 2012 award and contributed to a co-lead position in anchoring the endowment.

You can help us provide the recognition and resources needed to highlight those who are making everlasting contributions to pharmaceutics while encouraging our younger generation to follow in their footsteps.

Past Winners

  • 1990: George Zografi, Ph.D.
  • 1992: Gerhard Levy, Pharm.D.
  • 1994: William I. Higuchi, Ph.D.
  • 1996: Joseph R. Robinson, Ph.D.
  • 1998: Sung Wan Kim, Ph.D.
  • 2000: Leslie Z. Benet, Ph.D.
  • 2002: Nicholas A. Peppas, Sc.D., D.Eng.
  • 2004: David J. W. Grant, Ph.D.
  • 2006: Patrick P. DeLuca, Ph.D.
  • 2008: Larry Augsburger, Ph.D.
  • 2010: Theodore W. Randolph, Ph.D.
  • 2012: Brad Anderson, Ph.D.
  • 2014: Panos Macheras, Ph.D.
  • 2016: Steve Byrn, Ph.D.

How to Contribute

Contribute by Mail

Contribution Form (PDF)

AAPS is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. All contributions are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law. Tax ID#52-1444968

Please mail donations to:

American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists
2107 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22201-3042
Attention: Me'Gesha Portlock

Matching Gifts

If your employer has a Matching Contribution Program, please consider maximizing your contribution to the Dale E. Wurster Award in Pharmaceutics by processing the necessary paperwork needed to match your contribution. Many companies will match your contribution equally, or provide a greater match.

Please be sure to complete the “My company matches my contribution” option on the Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics Contribution Form.

AAPS will confirm your donation and submit all required documentation in order to assist with processing your request. In addition, your company’s matching contribution will be acknowledged on the AAPS Website.

At the time of making the donation to AAPS Dale E. Wurster Endowment, the donors will be recognized at the levels at which they completed the cumulative gift. Company matches will be applied as part of the total pledge.

Call Us or Email Us

Me'Gesha Portlock
Awards and Fellows Coordinator
Email Us About Contributing to the Endowment

Giving Levels and Benefits

Corporate Giving Levels and Benefits  (PDF)

Individual Giving Levels and Benefits (PDF)  


Winner of the 2016 Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics, Dr. Stephen R. Byrn

Dr. Stephen R. Byrn is a pioneer in the field of Solid State Chemistry of Drugs. Dr. Byrn has published numerous books and papers on the subject since the early days of the field's development, in the mid-1970’s. Solid State Chemistry is now one of the fundamental bases of the study of pharmaceutics. Dr. Byrn has used his skills to elucidate the structure of medicines and their formulations for scores of students over the years.  He has taught over 100 short courses has educated over 50 Ph. D. students.  Dr. Byrn has been awarded numerous grants, including one for one of the first NIH Centers for AIDS Research.  He is a co-founder of Purdue’s regulatory graduate programs and a co-founder of the Purdue-Kilimanjaro Sustainable Medicines in Africa Program.  He has chaired several FDA and USP committees and is extensively involved in NIPTE.  He is also cofounder of SSCI, Inc. (Solid State Chemical Information) a cGMP research and information company.  Dr. Byrn has received several awards for his research and entrepreneurial activities including the first AAPS David Grant Award for Research Achievement in Physical Pharmacy.  In September 2010, the Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences dedicated a special issue to him.  His current research interests include pharmaceutics strategies for accelerated drug development and the use of synchrotron X-rays for pharmaceutical research.

Dr. Stephen R. Byrn, 2016 Wurster Award Recipient

Dr. Stephen R. Byrn,
2016 Wurster Award Recipient

Find out more about Dr. Byrn's current research
on his Perdue University faculty page .

Our Donors

Individual Lead Donor

Dale Eric and Pamela A. Wurster & Susan Wurster Biel

Individual Donors: $5,000+

Terrence and Donna Dahl
Jatin M. Patel
Colin Rowlings

Individual Donors: $1,000-$4,999

Rama Abu Shmeis
Gerry and Jan Burke
J. Keith Guillory
Gus and Beth Hartauer
Jouhn-Wern Jang
Mark Kothapalli
Lloyd E. Matheson
Peter J. Ramsey
Tom Reiland and Joanne Reiland Wakeman
Robert Ternik
Satyam and Bala Upadrashta and Family

Individual Donors: less than $1,000

Aktham Aburub
Nick Barker
Ira and Jody Buckner
Gerry and Jan Burke in memory of Elizabeth Benz
Rubi Burlage
Tuba Buyuktimkin
William H. Doub
Russell and Peiling Jang
Varaporn Junyaprasert
Bill and Sarah Kolling
Shingai and Jul-Mar Majuru
James McGinity
Dongmei Qiang
Eric Schmitt
Lloyd G. Tillman
Wei-Qin (Tony) Tong and Lian-Feng Huang
Richard Winnike
Irina Zamansky

Corporate Matching Gifts

Bristol-Myers Squibb Matching Gifts Program
Millenium (Takeda)
Pfizer Foundation Matching Gifts Program

Honor Roll

Lead Corporate Donors: $20,000 +

University of Iowa University of Iowa

Pfizer foundation

Corporate Donors: $10,000 +



Corporate Donors: $5,000–$9,999






Quotient Clinical

Corporate Donors: $500–$4,999



Magothy Consulting Group


Ardea Biosciences



Pfizer Foundation

Bristol-Meyers Squibb
Bristol Meyers Squibb