Dale E. Wurster Endowment

AAPS is pleased to announce the launch of an endowment campaign for the Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics. As we build this endowment, we look to our supporters like you to help make this a success.

The Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics recognizes individuals who have made significant research contributions to the field of pharmaceutics. This research may be in the areas of physical pharmacy, preformulation, dosage form design, formulation, biopharmaceutics, and/or pharmacokinetics.

The next award recipient will be announced at the 2016 AAPS Annual Meeting and Exhibition. This individual will join a distinguished group of scientists who have substantially impacted the field of pharmaceutics.

This award was created and generously funded by Dean and Professor Dale E. Wurster for 20 years. A fund raising initiative has been launched to permanently fund the award via an endowment and is currently 80 percent funded. This reflects the strong support to memorialize Dean Wurster’s scientific contributions and to recognize him as a founder of AAPS. The University of Iowa College of Pharmacy & University of Iowa Pharmaceuticals (UIP) is the lead corporate sponsor. Two additional tiers of support of have been created with significant contributions from AstraZeneca, Gilead, Merck, Metrics Contract Services, Quotient Clinical, Patheon Pharmaceuticals and additional support from AlphaVektor, Formex, Magothy Consulting, and Norwich Pharma Services. Significant donations have been received from individuals supporting this award. The Wurster family, including Professor Dale Eric Wurster, his wife Pamela, and Dr. Susan Wurster Biel personally covered the 2012 award and contributed to a co-lead position in anchoring the endowment. Learn more about Dale Erwin Wurster (PDF).

With your support, you can help us provide the recognition and resources needed to highlight those who are making everlasting contributions to pharmaceutics while encouraging our younger generation to follow in their footsteps. Contribute to the AAPS Dale E. Wurster Endowment Today!

Past Winners

2010 Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics

Theodore Randolph, Ph.D.

Ted Randolph received his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley. He worked as a post‐doctoral fellow at the Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, and then joined the Department of Chemical Engineering at Yale University as an Assistant Professor. After promotion to Associate Professor, he was named to Yale’s first John J. Lee Junior Professorship Chair in Chemical Engineering. In 1993, Dr. Randolph accepted the Patton Associate Professorship Chair in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Colorado. He currently serves as the Gillespie Professor of Bioengineering, co‐Director of the University of Colorado’s Center for Pharmaceutical Biotechnology, and Director of the NIH Leadership Training in Pharmaceutical Biotechnology Program. Dr. Randolph is a National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator, and received the AIChE Professional Progress Award and the American Pharmacist’s Ebert Prize. His research interests include biopharmaceutical formulation, lyophilization of proteins, protein‐solvent interactions in non‐aqueous environments, and protein refolding. Dr. Randolph is an inventor on numerous patents, some of which form the basis for two companies that he has founded: RxKinetix, Inc. (now owned by Endo Pharmaceuticals), a company formed to commercialize new extended‐release drug delivery technologies, and BaroFold Inc., a company that uses high‐pressure protein refolding technology to develop and produce new protein therapeutics.

Ted Randolph

Contribute by Mail

Contribution Form (PDF)

AAPS is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. All contributions are tax deductible to the extend allowed by law. Tax ID#52-1444968

Please mail donations to:
American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists
2107 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 700
Arlington, VA 22201-3042
Attention: Me'Gesha Portlock

Matching Gifts

If your employer has a Matching Contribution Program, please consider maximizing your contribution to the Dale E. Wurster Award in Pharmaceutics by processing the necessary paperwork needed to match your contribution. Many companies will match your contribution equally, or provide a greater match.

AAPS is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. All contributions are tax deductible to the extent allowed by law. Tax ID#52-1444968.

Please be sure to complete the “My company matches my contribution” option on the Dale E. Wurster Research Award in Pharmaceutics Contribution Form.

AAPS will confirm your donation and submit all required documentation in order to assist with processing your request. In addition, your company’s matching contribution will be acknowledged on the AAPS Website.

At the time of making the donation to AAPS Dale E. Wurster Endowmen]]\the donors will be recognized at the levels at which they completed the cumulative gift. Company matches will be applied as part of the total pledge.

Giving Levels and Benefits

Corporate Giving Levels and Benefits  (PDF)

Individual Giving Levels and Benefits (PDF)

Staff Contact

Me'Gesha Portlock
Awards and Fellows Coordinator

Honor Roll

Lead Corporate Donors: $20,000 +

University of Iowa University of Iowa

Pfizer foundation

Corporate Donors: $10,000 +



Corporate Donors: $5,000–$9,999






Quotient Clinical

Corporate Donors: $500–$4,999



Magothy Consulting Group


Ardea Biosciences



Pfizer Foundation

Bristol-Meyers Squibb
Bristol Meyers Squibb

Individual Lead Donor

Dale Eric and Pamela A. Wurster & Susan Wurster Biel

Individual Donors: $5,000+

Terrence and Donna Dahl
Jatin M. Patel
Colin Rowlings

Individual Donors: $1,000-$4,999

Rama Abu Shmeis
Gerry and Jan Burke
J. Keith Guillory
Gus and Beth Hartauer
Jouhn-Wern Jang
Mark Kothapalli
Lloyd E. Matheson
Peter J. Ramsey
Tom Reiland and Joanne Reiland Wakeman
Robert Ternik
Satyam and Bala Upadrashta and Family

Individual Donors: less than $1,000

Aktham Aburub
Nick Barker
Ira and Jody Buckner
Gerry and Jan Burke in memory of Elizabeth Benz
Rubi Burlage
Tuba Buyuktimkin
William H. Doub
Russell and Peiling Jang
Varaporn Junyaprasert
Bill and Sarah Kolling
Shingai and Jul-Mar Majuru
James McGinity
Dongmei Qiang
Eric Schmitt
Lloyd G. Tillman
Wei-Qin (Tony) Tong and Lian-Feng Huang
Richard Winnike
Irina Zamansky

Corporate Matching Gifts

Bristol-Myers Squibb Matching Gifts Program
Millenium (Takeda)
Pfizer Foundation Matching Gifts Program

Staff Contact

Me'Gesha Portlock
Awards and Fellows Coordinator